A Bunch of Thoughts

Again, I know it’s been a minute since anything has been posted to the library blog.  Four of your librarians recently returned from ALA.  For those who are confused by random acronyms, that stands for the American Library Association.  Among many other things, the ALA has an annual conference that is huuuge.  Think around 13,000 (if not more) librarians storming McCormick Place in Chicago ready to learn something new, network with other librarians, and take a look at some new products. Since each of us does something a little bit different at the library, we all attended different sessions and probably had varying experiences.  Since I can only speak for myself, that’s what I’ll do. It was my first time going and I was amazed and quite overwhelmed at first.  To give you an idea of how I felt, here is a floor plan. I eventually got my bearings and had a wonderful time and I think everyone else here did as well.

Anyway, I just wanted to explain why there have been no blog posts this week (so far).

When I came back on Monday, the library was insanely busy (which is awesome).  Every summer, we have reading programs for adults and kids so this contributes to a lot of the traffic. By the way, you can still sign up for the adult Summer Reading Program or come to any of the events that are going on for kids!  However, this year has objectively seen more patrons and check-outs than ever before.

I know this to be true because we were almost completely out of date-due cards.  What is a date-due card, you ask?  Well, we used to stamp the date that your items were due on these cards and that’s how you would know when to return your items.  At this point, they’re a bit antiquated, but we still use them to secure our collection. The fact that they were almost gone means that more items are being checked out than any other time in our recent past. They are a non-consumable supply, so when we have to re-order them, it means we’re doing good things. I absolutely love working for this library and our community and I hope that we continue to be surprised by how many books are getting taken out. Also, let it be known that we are always looking for ways to make your library experience even better–if you ever have any suggestions (or compliments), let us know.  You can send us a Facebook message, contact us through our website or stop in!

Leave a Reply

